iTunes accounts with credit cards a 'tremendous asset' for potential Apple e-wallet

Comments

• Reply 21 of 43

Quote:

Originally Posted by NasserAE View Post

I doubt we will see this anytime soon.. not with Visa and MasterCard adding additional service fees to eWallets such as Googles and PayPals.

I just checked with Paypal. They claim 110 million active accounts. I don't think you realize how much pull Apple will have based on their customer base alone.

• Reply 22 of 43
    solipsismxsolipsismx Posts: 19,566member
    I've been arguing the potential of this for a couple years now. No idea if they will do it but it seems to me they'l want to expand their Passbook service. I have about a dozen ideas to make this work but I'll save it for when the discussion calls for it.

charlituna wrote: »
    It won't get to there. Most companies will say no to having to give Apple a cut

MasterCard has acknowledged that it needs Apple to bring NFC payments into the mainstream. That's could be a way for Apple to meet them (and Visa and PayPal) half-way. They wouldn't need a cut the same way other vendors get a cut; a fraction of a percent would be more than enough to ensure they "break even" which seems to be something they like to do with their iTunes Store sales.
  • Reply 23 of 43

Quote:

Originally Posted by ascii View Post

The only problem with saying all the iTunes accounts with credit cards will help Apple, is that all those people by definition already have a credit card, which is already very easy to use. It seems more likely that credit card companies will get together with retailers to add thumbprint readers (or something) to their cash registers, and just leave phone makers out of the loop.