Intel makes 'Thunderbolt 2' official with 20Gbps speeds, late 2013 launch

Comments

• Reply 41 of 137
    macxpressmacxpress Posts: 5,801member

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bergermeister View Post

Many Macs except for the Pro have TB.  The new devices therefore will work with older computers that don't have TB2.

That would be thousands.

Except for the fact that there's like 50 TB devices total on the market right now...That was my point. Not the Macs themselves. 

• Reply 42 of 137
    pmzpmz Posts: 3,433member

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oflife View Post

The mini DisplayPort / Thunderbolt connector is not really that good. I have a 2011 MBA 13" connected to a superb Dell monitor via DisplayPort, but the plug that goes into the MBA is not as well thought out as say Lightening, and likewise, the large connector that plugs into the monitor (looks like an HDMI with only one chamfered corner) is very very difficult to unplug.

It is a pity the industry could not agree on the anyway up Lightening connector for Thunderbolt and use it to usurp the ageing and not very imaginative USB connectors.

???

The Thunderbolt connector is great. And you're complaining about Displayport connector, which is on your Dell monitor, in an Apple forum. And your complaint is that its is difficult to UNPLUG? What are you looking for in a monitor connector, fast and loose? image

• Reply 43 of 137
    pmzpmz Posts: 3,433member

Quote:

Originally Posted by geekdad View Post