Steve Jobs reportedly mulled axing Apple's pro products

Comments

• Reply 21 of 132
    murmanmurman Posts: 159member

Just revisited the Mac Pro preview on Apple's website, that thing is seriously amazing. If you've ever built your own PC, you'll know how many heat sinks and cooling fans there could be in a PC, its not unusual even for casual (not complete beginner casual) to replace the stock heat sink and fan of the CPU with a better after market cooler, and you might put a fan or two on the case to help cool the GPU and in general. So for the Mac Pro to fit everything to that single heat sink with one fan, its absolutely out of this world.

You cannot buy components that fit like that in the consumer PC components market, so what you end up with when you build a beast of a computer is to make it HUGE, huge enclosure with great cooling features, lots of expansion possibility, everything more or less must be inside, what's outside is usually just the external storage. And consumer GPUs are huge also, each with its own cooling attached and this class of GPU will probably need extra power, you need two to match the Mac Pro. There is no way to build a PC like that with similar performance, and at that size on your own, size won't even be close really. And the the Mac Pro enclosure is aluminum too, without a seam, how did they do that??

• Reply 22 of 132

Apple kill off the 17" Macbook Pro? Unless someone can prove to me Apple said such a thing then the 17" Pro still lives!!

• Reply 23 of 132
    MacProMacPro Posts: 19,718member
    And this conversation is verifiable?
  • Reply 24 of 132
    blackbookblackbook Posts: 1,361member

I could see Apple re-releasing the 17 inch MacBook Pro, if the bezels are reduced in the next model.

Honestly I don't know why the bezel is so big around the MacBook line. With the iPad's bezel getting trimmed I could see the same happening with the MacBooks.