Apple hiring Maps experts, iOS 7 will recruit users to 'Help Improve Maps' with Frequent Locations

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 39
    pscooter63pscooter63 Posts: 1,080member

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave MacLachlan View Post

Dang. Wish I was a skilled enough programmer to apply to one of these positions!

I would dearly love to QA for Apple, but I live practically on the other side of the country.  Last time I checked, it looked like all the positions were local to Cupertino.

• Reply 22 of 39
    poochpooch Posts: 768member
    markm929 wrote: »
    That is a great idea Richard!

your comment immediately made me remember one of my favorite cartoons ...

• Reply 23 of 39
    richl wrote: »
    Your use of the past tense ("shifted") seems to indicate that you think that the original iOS Maps app was written by Google. It was not. It was an Apple-developed application that used Google's mapping data. Google didn't shift any resources away from iOS as there were none to begin with.

Because The original iOS map was basically dependent on Google mapping data, I believe it's more of Google restricting Apple's iOS on new key features at that time like turn by turn. Google was reluctant to give up a key competitive advantage for Android which led to Apple rethinking their dependency on Google's mapping data. Point is competition brings good things to both iOS and Android users.
  • Reply 24 of 39
    irelandireland Posts: 17,798member
    Apple should build (or hire) a fleet of drones that will, on a monthly basis, fly over and scan the major cities.

Obama has that covered.
  • Reply 25 of 39
    irelandireland Posts: 17,798member
    tundraboy wrote: »
    You get a better Apple Maps app just by clicking on a button to activate "Help Improve Maps".  Isn't that reward enough?

Seeing as you would already know what's wrong with the map in your area you're helping others and Apple, not yourself.
  • Reply 26 of 39
    SpamSandwichSpamSandwich Posts: 33,407member