First look: Apple's upcoming Mac Pro and new MacBook Pros with Retina display

Comments

• Reply 21 of 48
    mstonemstone Posts: 11,510member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by hmm View Post

I am slightly (emphasis on slightly) surprised that they went with the quad cpu and still upped the price. It appears to be a v2 bump of an E5-1620 That is a logical choice for a base model. I just didn't expect it to hit $3k in that configuration.

I was replying to someone who had implied that the new Pro could not be configured to meet the requirements of professionals, which I totally disagree with. But... high end computing doesn't come cheap even if you purchase parts and build it yourself like that other numb skull boasted. I'm not an expert on cutting edge hardware but I just spec'd out a top of the line iMac on the Apple store and it added up to $3,949.00. Sure, it included a monitor, obviously, but I doubt it is faster than the base Pro.

• Reply 22 of 48
    drblankdrblank Posts: 3,385member
    Bitchin' technology!
  • Reply 23 of 48
    MacProMacPro Posts: 19,727member
    I think this machine would be twice as fast as a ten year old CRAY. Are we even sure what we are talking about anymore in regards to "Super" computer? I think this thing does 2 teraflops compute and 72 graphics (yeah, I'm too lazy to look up the specs -- and that is a LUDICROUS amount of power which is why I vaguely remember it).

So "super duper" computer will have to be a Petaflop now. You are NOT buying a Super Duper Computer, but yes, you in fact DO HAVE a Super Computer on your desktop. Or on your floor. Personally, I'd mount this on a lamp shade and disguise it as a lava lamp, just to keep everyone guessing how I'm pulling these mad hacks out of thin air!

I'm thinking it will be great for keeping the coffee pot warm, maybe even hot. :)
  • Reply 24 of 48
    mstone wrote: »