Apple reported to buy Israeli 3D sensor firm PrimeSense for $345 million

Comments

• Reply 41 of 61
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Gatorguy View Post

Oh well that's different. Once it's listed on Wikipedia. . .image

Yeah, and I read it on the Internet, too, so it must be true. ;)

• Reply 42 of 61
    Apple is doing a lot with e-commerce... Especially NFC -- they just killed it with iBeacons.

The use of the PrimeSense technology, as I described it, has to do with securing/identifying an external device like an iPad cash register with the secure (TouchID) data on your device... "It takes two to tango" securely.

I suspect I understand it as well as you do!

I have been purchasing Apple devices since 1978 (Apple ][). I have been observing/working with Apple since 1978 as: costumer; user; dealer/reseller;  supplier;  co-developer on a project •;  OSX Developer;  iOS Developer.

* This was a Point-Of-Sale replacement for the cash register for Apple Dealers using the Mac and LaserWriter.

I suspect I understand what motivates people to buy Apple. In my 11 years as a Computer dealer (including Apple) we had international customers such as Daimler/Benz, EMI Thorne, Schlumberger/Fairchild, Intel, National Semi, IBM, Apple, Xerox, HP...

Our household of 2 adults and 3 teenagers is all Apple currently we use:  3 iMacs;  3 Mac Minis;  an AluBook 17",  3 AppleTVs; 2 Airport Express routers; iPhone 5S, iPhone 5C, iPhone 5;  iPhone 4S (2); iPad 4; iPad 3; iPad Mini; iPad 2 (2)... a bunch of older iPhones aPads and iPods...

Yeah, so... As I stated, the technology, certainly, has applications in games and TV...