Steve Jobs threatened 'war' as Google tried to poach Safari engineers for nascent browser team

Comments

• Reply 21 of 47
    moreckmoreck Posts: 187member
    So Brin was either clueless as to what his staff was doing, or he's a liar.
  • Reply 22 of 47
    cpsrocpsro Posts: 3,198member

Hearsay evidence

• Reply 23 of 47
    philgarphilgar Posts: 93member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by SudoNym View Post

Exactly.  Just as long a you never work in consumer electronics ever again, there will be no problems.  If you want to work in consumer electronics, you need to stay with Apple.  Simple.

And, you know what would happen if Apple tried this (and it didn't get thrown out for Apple's employee's basic human rights?  At first, likely not much, but as employees try to leave apple and get stopped, it would be a HUGE red flag to any potential talent that might otherwise want to work for Apple.  As a computer engineer, I would refuse to work for any company that said I could never work in the field. If they did that, I'd have no recourse about what to do if the situation went south.  What if my manager was a jerk?  What if I wanted to move somewhere else for personal reasons and Apple didn't do business there?  What if I never got a raise, despite deserving one?  I'd be stuck working for Apple forever.  No thanks, Apple would quickly lose potential engineers, and the experienced engineers would leave Apple in droves.

And of course, without these engineers, Apple wouldn't be able to make great products.... They'd manage the next 5 years okay... Releasing minor updates when they can of their products, but eventually the markets would speak, and Apple's value would tank.  In the tech industry you're only as good as your latest product, and when your latest product is a couple years old, you have next to no value.