Microsoft shows off new 'Windows in the car' concept to take on Apple's CarPlay

Comments

• Reply 61 of 98
    georgeip5georgeip5 Posts: 225member
    Wow and I thought samsung was bad. They couldn't even think of a deferent name. They just swapped iOS with windows. Without windows in your car it's a breeze. That's something I'll never get.
  • Reply 62 of 98
    applecpaapplecpa Posts: 28member
    I'm an accountant for a Mercedes, BMW, Ford(Lincoln), Mazda dealership. I can honestly say none of them are interested in a Microsoft product. I have asked several times.
  • Reply 63 of 98
    solipsismxsolipsismx Posts: 19,566member
    applecpa wrote: »
    I'm an accountant for a Mercedes, BMW, Ford(Lincoln), Mazda dealership. I can honestly say none of them are interested in a Microsoft product. I have asked several times.

This doesn't appear to be like Ford SYNC. It looks like CarPlay which is just a UI pushed from the handset which means the automobile makers only need to support a way for the UI to be overlayed when connected. If they can set it up for Apple I don't see it costing any more to support WinPhone, Android, or any other mobileOS that makes any headway in the market.
  • Reply 64 of 98
    emesemes Posts: 239member

Looks cool. I just hope they change the name to something a little less generic.

Quote:

Originally Posted by HappyAppleUser View Post

I don't want to be driving a Car where Microsoft software or hardware is installed.  I have no desire to see the "MS Blue Screen of Death" as I'm driving.   

Actually, the Windows Phone OS that this would run on is pretty stable. The only phone I've heard of getting the BSOD was an iPhone 5

• Reply 65 of 98
    [SIZE=4][COLOR=blue]So there's these two guys standing outside thee pearly gates and the one guy is saying to the other, "I was driving and the last thing I remember seeing was a Blue Screen of Death."[/COLOR][/SIZE]
  • Reply 66 of 98
    nikon133nikon133 Posts: 2,600member
    hill60 wrote: »