Apple, Inc. and the pursuit of affordable luxury electronics

Comments

• Reply 61 of 270
    hill60hill60 Posts: 6,992member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by drblank View Post

Samsung just got a head start with the large screen phones, but once Apple focuses in on that market segment,

HTC were the ones that got the "head start with the large screen phones", fat lot of good it did them.

I see Samsung's campaign is still active, one of the points brought out in the latest Apple vs Samsung trial, and I quote from Samsung's email directly:-

"- PR attack plan by pointing out iPhone 5's weakness (small 4 inch LCD size)"

Are you really so easily misled by Samsung's propaganda?

• Reply 62 of 270
    fearlessfearless Posts: 138member
    Wèll I'm a colourist by trade and I can tell you there is a lot of difference. I won't have a LCD screen in my suite. I barely tolerate my professional plasma. My needs are special, and I can tell the difference. The Sony LCD at home is awful. But if Apple were to choose to make a decent one, and it met my needs for accuracy and stability, I'd gladly pay its 'luxury' premium. For most people, 3D or 4K are the media- driven differentiators. For me, it's about a screen that shows me what right, what's wrong, what looks amazing or foul and looks the same tomorrow. That's what I'll pay for., and it's very hard to find.
  • Reply 63 of 270
    danielswdanielsw Posts: 906member
    Thank you for another excellent article, Mr. Dilger.

I wish more companies were like Apple. Not just in technology but in all walks of life, I so often get the feeling that businesses think that they have to cater for the lowest common denominator. They do this because they see the cheap end of things selling well and think that that is the only way to survive.

Create something loveable, something which has had a lot of thought, care and attention to detail invested in it, and we will buy it.

Hear, hear!
  • Reply 64 of 270