Intuit releases redesigned Quicken 2015 for Mac, first new version in 7 years

Comments

• Reply 61 of 90
    Quote:

Originally Posted by paxman View Post

I was a little worried about this because no accountant I could find had ever heard of Moneyworks and I am no accountancy expert. 

I think the reason would be because it was made in New Zealand not in America. Most American accountants would probably be using Quicken as a result.

MoneyWorks is a very powerful piece of software and the best thing about it is that it has an accountant's copy so even if your accountant hasn't heard of it you can ensure he does by giving him a free copy.

While it was built in New Zealand it does have tax rules for a number of countries notably NZ, Australia, UK, USA, Canada, etc.

There's a version that's basically income/expenditure for the basic use but MoneyWorks Gold gives you everything including inventory and job tracking.

It is however expensive, it's also an accountant application so the interface is kind of bad but useable.

• Reply 62 of 90
    inklinginkling Posts: 772member

Given that I don't use any of the apps that Apple stripped back, I'm probably not the best one to attack that way. Besides:

1. Apple did get flack for that, lots of flack. Intuit deserves the same.

2. With the exception of FCP, the Apple apps being mentioned are either free or cheap. Quicken 2015 is neither.

Did you notice that this is Quicken 2015? It's still 2014, merely August in fact. That suggests that Intuit doesn't intend an actual 2015 upgrade. So don't hold your breath while waiting for those shortcomings to be addressed. You'll turn blue. Think 16 to 18 months at least, long enough to get us to 2016.

• Reply 63 of 90
    Quote:

Originally Posted by John.B View Post

Are Moneydance and iBank still Java based?  Java is a security blackhole and I refuse to have it on any of my Macs.