Share Cable Internet connect from PC to Mac?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I am wondering if any of you can help?

I have a PC with an ethernet/cable internet connection in one room, and an iMac SE in another room (right in the next room actually). Can I somehow use the cable internet connection from my PC to my iMac wirelessly?

The PC and the Mac will never be on at the same time, so I don't want to network them, I basically just want to use whatever IP TimeWarner gives me (on whatever machine I use first).

So, if I get the Airport Base Station and hook that up to the Mac, what do I need on the PC side (which has the cable connection) to send the connection over to the Mac wirelessly? If this is possible, what do I need? A router or something? I was told LinkSys is good for these kinds of things.

I am new to the networking scene, so any info would be cool!

[ 03-03-2002: Message edited by: iPatchoulio ]</p>

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    fotnsfotns Posts: 301member
    I don't think you will need the airport base station.

This should be all you need: <a href="http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00005ARK3/102-3738193-8015321"; target="_blank">http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00005ARK3/102-3738193-8015321</A>;

Hook your cable modem up to that and you should be good to go. I have the wired model and it is great, I highly recommend Linksys.

[ 03-03-2002: Message edited by: FotNS ]</p>
  • Reply 2 of 6
    patchoulipatchouli Posts: 402member
    Hey FotNS, thanks for the link! I am a bit confused though.

If I hook up that LinkSys router to my PC/Cable modem in the first room, how to I get my iMac in the second room to receive the cable connection? What device (if one exists) do I need to hook up to the Mac that will talk to this router?