Despite lawsuit, Apple's iOS 8 storage is actually far more efficient than Google's Android, Samsung

Comments

• Reply 61 of 137
    thttht Posts: 5,421member

Can't see how this lawsuit can possibly move forward. Apple undoubtedly has small print that covers themselves regarding actual user storage space being smaller (due to filesystems and system software blah blah blah) while the marketed storage size is absolutely true, and they've also covered themselves in the small print regarding decimal or binary storage sizes.

Storage size marketing or advertising has been this way for the better part of 4 decades or whatever it is. Hard to believe a legal precedent would be set today, while "free user space" is a subjective and moving target through time that no company really would make an advertised item, after all this time.

• Reply 62 of 137
    SpamSandwichSpamSandwich Posts: 33,407member
    I worked in retail for many of years. I had a theory that anyone walking into the store would be automatically deemed an idiot, until evidence of intelligent life is found.

This "fiasco" falls in the same realm. If people can honestly believe they will get 100% of anything is ridiculous. With computers this has been an issues for as long as I can remember. Your phone is a computer, there is no difference. The OS takes up space. your the idiot that bought a 16gb, don't blame the company. wether it be APPLE, GOOGLE, MS or anyone else.

it's for these reason I buy the highest end model. cause I know shit takes up space, and I like to save my pix. hell I even have the 20gb iCloud Drive, 5gb Google Drive, iTunes Match, and my own 4TB home based Cloud storage.

This also applies to every thumb drive ever sold.
  • Reply 63 of 137
    gatorguygatorguy Posts: 24,176member
    tht wrote: »