New iMAC..please help

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I am new to the Apple scene. I recently Ordered the new iMAC from the Apple store for my wife. (DOH! 3-5 weeks wait time). We are PC users (dont everyone yell at me at once..hehe)and have some questions and i know they are dumb ones. I know the MAC only has one mouse button, so what do you use to right click on things? Like to see the properties of things. How does the G4 800mhz processor compare to let's say a pentium 4 1.6 GHZ? what is Aqua and Cocoa? what common utilities for the PC also have MAC versions, ie Winzip, CDR burning software, kazaa, grokster, email programs, etc? How do you setup TCP/IP so that i can hook it up to my DSL router and get internet access? I know some of these questions will be answered in the user guide, but like i said its going to take a little while for me to get it and i'm trying to get a jump start on things. Sorry if i sound like a dumb a$$, but this is my first experience with a MAC. I have been an advid PC user for about 10 years but i am thinking about going over to MAC's. If i like my wifes iMAC i will get one of my own. thanx for any and all help.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 16
    Lots of questions

For right clicking, you hold down the "control" key. You'll know you're doing it right because the cursor will change to show a little menu underneath the arrow.

I don't really know how a G4 compares to a P4. I use a 667MHz P3 next to my 450MHz G4, and they each are better and faster at certain tasks. I'm not going to spout off benchmarks, because I don't think it's really fair as it's just propaganda from either Intel or Apple. It all depends on what you're doing, really.

Aqua is the user interface of Mac OS X. It is essentially the style of how everything looks. Quartz is the underlying rendering engine that allows Aqua to be Aqua. Cocoa is a way of creating Mac OS X apps that take full advantage of the OS, and run only in OS X.