Neil Young's $400 Pono hi-def music player loses to Apple's iPhone in blind audio test

Comments

• Reply 21 of 179
    mstonemstone Posts: 11,510member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Boltsfan17 View Post

They were using a pair of  Sony MDR 7506, which are good headphones. 

I'm still using my 15 year old MDR V500 which was an early predecessor to 7506 although the ear pads are getting worn out. Just yesterday I was researching new headphones and lots of pros recommend those MDR 7506 even though the MDR 7509 are the latest generation. The 7506 are not as heavy in the bass range as the 7509, and also have a cleaner mid and high according to the reviews. The 7509 have a better frequency response but unless you are a dog it is useless because it is mostly beyond the range of human hearing. I'm not an audio pro but I want to have a really good set of headphones anyway.

• Reply 22 of 179
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Apple ][ View Post

I'm no hardware engineer, but that just strikes me as some real poor designing that's going on there.

I'd love to have a TV show where Jony Ive and Marc Newson sat down and reviewed products.

"This music player...it's terrible. You can tell that they simply didn't care about the end user, but only about the technology."

• Reply 23 of 179
    Quote:

Originally Posted by TheWhiteFalcon View Post

If the iPod Classic were still around I'd readily recommend it over this

I'd recommend an iPod 1st gen over this

• Reply 24 of 179
    cm477cm477 Posts: 99member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by AppleInsider View Post

"It's like saying that wearing a crystal or a magnet makes you healthier: There's no scientific or measurable basis to the statement, but then again, if it works for you, nobody can argue with you," Pogue said.