iOS 7 screws up importing photos to iPad (problem FIXED in iOS 7.1)

Posted:
in iPad edited July 2015

I'm a photographer.  For years, I'd haul my MacBook Pro around with me so I could edit images I shoot while on the road.  In 2012 I got my first iPad (3rd generation).  Shortly thereafter I purchased Apple's Camera Connection Kit (SD card reader) and a third-party 30-pin card reader that handles Compact Flash Cards in addition to SD cards.  Life was good.  Using the iPad I could quickly and easily peruse hundreds of images on my flash cards and selectively import just the ones I wanted to import to the the iPad.  That allowed me to quickly share them (in person and on the web) after I'd applied any necessary editing to them in iPhoto or other image app on the iPad.

All of that joy and happiness was under iOS 5.

Fast forward to this past weekend, when for the first time in several weeks I attempted the same process while on a trip.  The difference:  I updated my iPad 3 to iOS 7 since the last time I tried the card readers.

Oh My God!  Talk about totally screwed up!  The card readers (both Apple's and my third-party reader) "work" with my iPad 3 running iOS 7, but they are EXCRUCIATINGLY slow!

How slow is that?  You won't believe me but I'll tell you anyway!

iPad 3 with iOS 5: Loads thumbnails for 302 RAW images in less than 30 seconds

iPad 3 with iOS 7: Loads thumbnails for 302 RAW images in 3 HOURS!

To be fair, I didn't actually let it run for 3 hours.  That's just my estimate based on how long it takes the iOS 7 iPad to load the thumbnails for 6 images.  I gave up after 6 images because JUST THE THUMBNAILS for 6 images took more than 5 minutes to load!

Don't believe me?  I made a video to prove it:

http://www.thephotobooth.net/Apple/IPad-3-Thumbnail-Load/36649619_KXmqqD#!i=3047589904&k=8JvpmdT

This has rendered my iPad 3 completely useless for my photography purposes.