Apple having the microsoft attitude?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I'm just thinking how pissed we all are with microsoft having a monopoly and doing all those dirty tricks to keep the monopoly.

Now apple with all the company and program buyouts isn't trying to make a monopoly?Cause that's what it seems to me...

I'm gonna be very happy if it kills all the windows version of the programs apple bought but I'm afraid that this isn't a way to attract people to a new platform.I think that they will only get people hating apple and not the opposite. Also how long will it be before some big lawyer sues apple for being a monopoly?

On the other hand I'm thinking: If you buy a company you can do whatever you like with it cause it's your own.

Well I don't know.Is there anybody who can enlighten us?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    stroszekstroszek Posts: 801member
    I'm not a lawyer, but I think one would be hard pressed to argue that Apple has a monopoly over anything. I think you have to have many more customers before you start getting into monoploy territory.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    phobosphobos Posts: 29member
    I don't mean right now.After apple discontinues the PC side of the programs
  • Reply 3 of 8
    jet powersjet powers Posts: 288member
    Apple can't have a monopoly, because they only have 3% of the market.

Jet
  • Reply 4 of 8
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,419member
    phobos you are falling into the same trap that everyone who doesn't think this through does(it seems)

The computer industry has ALWAYS been about Mergers and Acquisitions. During these M&A people lose their jobs and products are cancelled. This is par for the course.

Where Microsoft has come under fire is NOT competing with their Software Devs but integrating their own apps into the OS so as to make it difficult to remove without affecting the speed or reliability of the computer.

Apple has done nothing of this kind. You can remove ANY apple iApp with impunity.