Apple's online store outs Touch ID-equipped iPhone 5c [u]

Comments

• Reply 21 of 53
    netmagenetmage Posts: 314member
    "no glass"

That may be what you think of, but not what was posted and it certainly is possible to shatter those panels.
  • Reply 22 of 53
    netmagenetmage Posts: 314member
    Not to mention moving the total ecosystem of supported iDevices to 64-bit only. I wouldn't be surprised to see a new iPod Touch with a 64-bit (older) processor announced this fall.
  • Reply 23 of 53
    atokoschatokosch Posts: 46member
    This is not a big surprise to me. The iPhone 5C and iPhone 5C have just about the same screw holes, and if they not, then they are exactly the same. I am a repair tech and i always figured that that you could put an iPhone 5S board into the 5C housing, i never tried it, but i think i'm going to have to next time i have the chance. I see Apple making this the free iPhone 5S, i'm just not sure what they could call it!? iPhone 5S with colors?
  • Reply 24 of 53
    lghulmlghulm Posts: 22member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by MazeCookie View Post

There is no glass on the back of the 5S.

There is mate - at the top and the bottom to allow radio signals to pass through - you will know it is glass when it shatters believe me (and if it ain't glass it certainly shatters exactly like glass).

I got a quote from my local Apple shop (Perth Australia) for about $300AUD to fix it (replacing the whole phone). Also got a quote for a third party repair in Thailand for $15AUD. I didn't think Apple would be so expensive for the official repair so didn't get it done at the time.

Still shattered and dropping out additional shards of glass over time but think I can hold on to the 6S is released and replace the whole thing.

• Reply 25 of 53
    lghulmlghulm Posts: 22member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by TheWhiteFalcon View Post