Flabbergastingly insecure: Google's Android is the new Flash

Comments

• Reply 41 of 127
    boredumbboredumb Posts: 1,418member

What's truly flabbergasting is, that the government won't sanction Android devices for themselves for these very reasons, yet they want the rest of us to be vulnerable, and are willing to tear down Apple to ensure it...

I guess it'll be 1984 here forevermore, no matter what your calendar says.

• Reply 42 of 127
    dick applebaumdick applebaum Posts: 12,527member
    mstone wrote: »
    I liked the line in the linked article:

"Many eyes give you many eyelashes, and not a lot else."

I almost stopped reading there. The whole article had an arrogant overtone in my opinion.

Yeah, funny though ...

I am not experienced in the server-side of things (except as a user). I suspect to those providing public, private and secondary access (AWS, IBM, Google, etc.) that is critical to have access the source -- in order to quickly detect and fix breaches of any kind (security, esoteric bugs, deficiencies).

So, I I agree that for those that need it, OSS has benefits.

Here's an interesting site that discusses OS usage for web servers:

http://w3techs.com/technologies/details/os-linux/all/all
  • Reply 43 of 127
    Even the AngryMacBastards would have liked this article, even though they called DED the MacMac's MacMac. Daniel, I'd like to buy you a lot of beer. What's frightening is that DED is right. "over the top"? really? That's just DED's way not to use profanity, I think.
  • Reply 44 of 127
    d4njvrzfd4njvrzf Posts: 797member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by AppleInsider View Post

From the very start, Google championed the idea of being able to load software from virtually anywhere as an example of Android's "freedom," but the reality is that "open app stores" are just as insane from a security point of view as hardwiring Flash into the browser.