Rumor: Apple considering going back to 'glass-to-glass' touch panels for 2016 iPhones

Comments

• Reply 21 of 55

I worked in retail as a college job back when [color] inkjet printers came about. The baseline was 300 DPI then came 600 DPI, which was a noticeable improvement for black text and shading. Then came 1,200, 2,400, 4,800, and even 9,600. There may have been a few that advertised DPI ratings even higher than that. Assuming a small drop size and accurate placement, there was virtually no improvement beyond 600 DPI. Back in this time period, HP's color inkjets topped out at 600 DPI while Epson had introduced the Stylus Color with 1,200 DPI and a smaller drop size. As a salesperson, it was tough explaining to customers why they should buy the 600 DPI HP over the 1,200 DPI Epson - they simply couldn't understand how 1,200 was not better than 600. However, when I would print identical sample images, it was clear there was no advantage to the Epson and that the 600 DPI image from the HP looked superior. Worst was a now-defunct brand called DEC that claimed 4,800 DPI and looked worse than a 300 DPI printer from HP. "It's not always about how many of something you have - it's sometimes about how you use them."

• Reply 22 of 55
    sog35 wrote: »
    So you buy smartphones based on looks?  LOL.  

No reasonable person can say the 4.7 iPhone6 is huge.

NEXT.

It's too big for me to be carrying it around in my pocket especially if I want to put a military grade protective case on it. Maybe its fine for people who carry purses and backpacks everywhere.
  • Reply 23 of 55
    netroxnetrox Posts: 1,422member
    It may be more efficient to just present the movie in 4K resolution than to downsample?

And also, it's possible that airplay will display 4K so you'd want true 4K mirrored on a 4K monitor.

Remember, iPhones are getting more powerful and can do a lot more. It will eventually become a "PC".