Apple removes iOS app chronicling victims of US drone strikes

Comments

• Reply 41 of 84
    thedbathedba Posts: 762member
    apple ][ wrote: »
    That's a bunch of baloney. This app wasn't pulled for a random reason, just because somebody felt like it. Apple has their specific reasons for denying and pulling certain apps.

If an app developer chooses to make an app that might be controversial, or politically controversial, then they are probably taking a risk. If somebody wishes to gamble on something, then they would be wise to choose something that gives them decent odds. I would venture to guess that apps of this nature does not give a gambler decent odds. :)

I'm not an app developer, but if I were, I wouldn't have wasted my time making such an app, because I am smart enough to know that there might be issues with it, due to its highly political and controversial nature, and because of Apple's past history when it comes to controversial topics and apps.:smokey:
    Everything you say, screams "thought police".
  • Reply 42 of 84

There is a slippery slope here, in that the information presented as the truth may or may not actually be true. In this case, yes, the people behind it seem to be acting like journalists and are likely adhering to some kind of ethical standard. But the case could easily be otherwise.

Things like this can be manipulated to become something far from the truth -- Apple cannot allow itself to be put into a position where it is basically vetting news organizations. The risk of damage from being drawn into political storms is too great.

People will bring up Fox News, which I'm sure must have an app, right? I guess I'd respond that a line has to be drawn somewhere. Fox News is at least under scrutiny as "mainstream media" -- regardless of how little they care about actual journalistic standards and what the watchdogs think.