Calling all iBook users!

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I'm in need of some advice here...

I am the proud owner of a PowerMac G4 466MHz, and am just dying to be portable. I recently upgraded the PowerMac to 768MB Ram, ATI Radeon 8500, and an extra 40GB's of Hard drive space.

I'm looking at possibly switching to a 700MHz iBook, with the combo drive.

Am I nuts? Is there anyone out there who switched to an iBook from a PowerMac? I know it's not a G4, but it's portable. I hate always having to go to my bedroom to use the mac. As a graphic designer, I would like to be outside, or just go someplace quiet where I can work in peace.

If anyone has any thoughts or comments, please let me know! PowerBook G4 is WAY too expensive.

If anyone owns an iBook, and would like to comment on speed, please do so!

[ 09-29-2002: Message edited by: erbium ]</p>

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    satchmosatchmo Posts: 2,699member
    I know what you mean. I'm already tiring of my G4 iMac. It's upstairs in my home office, and yes my TV is downstairs.

I've been looking at a portable, but I can't get myself to "downgrade" to a G3 processor.

Yeah, yeah, there will be those who say it's just as fast except for certain apps. True but why should I pay any performance hit and still pay more. Okay portability is a premium, but until there's a G4 iBook (not Powerbook), I'd hold off. Especially if you're into graphics.
  • Reply 2 of 13
    &lt;sigh&gt; A G4 iBook would be cool. Though I remember reading something not too long ago saying how Apple was going to stick with the G3 processor until the PowerBook went to something faster. Whatever chip the next PowerMac's are going top ship with.

Anyway... The no G4 chip is basically the only thing holding me back right now. However, it's not like my 466 G4 is a real speed demon.
  • Reply 3 of 13
    As a long time Mac owner (and iBook owner), here are my own thoughts.