Stop Me Before I Press Buy!

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
So the time has come to buy a new laptop and the odds are really split between DELL and APPLE. It would either be between the midrange TiBook with 60 gig HD and a gig of ram or the Dell Inspiron configured with a gig of ram, Radeon 9000 Mobile, 60 gig HD, 2.2ghz and 60 gig hd.

Basically Im a business student and will probably use this computer to play games. I am way too close to pressing the buy button on the Dell side! AHHHH HELP ME!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 34
    matsumatsu Posts: 6,558member
    Press buy, go on, do it!

Don't buy an Apple machine untill the price matches the spec.

However, Dells lose resale value faster than chewed gum, so if you have upgrade plans for the near future, better be ready to repay full price in 2 years.
  • Reply 2 of 34
    zozo Posts: 3,117member
    radeon 9000 is awesome chip for gaming, but the TiBook Radeon is def no slouch either.

Just remember that a Dell is a POS.

If I were you, get a TiBook and enjoy the gaming on it, and then eventually, in a year or so, get yerself a PC tower for just gaming...
  • Reply 3 of 34
    ZO you say:

[quote] If I were you, get a TiBook and enjoy the gaming on it, and then eventually, in a year or so, get yerself a PC tower for just gaming...<hr></blockquote>

I mean no disrespect by saying this but, in this day and age where it is almost 2003 and video cards are running at blazing fast speeds it seems dumb and plain uneconomical to buy a machine just for gaming.

Apple markets the TiBook as a desktop replacement in every spotlight they have on it. Hence I want it to replace my desktop.
  • Reply 4 of 34
    defiantdefiant Posts: 4,876member
    [quote]Originally posted by Shanksta:

<strong> (...) it seems dumb and plain uneconomical to buy a machine just for gaming.</strong><hr></blockquote>

you're still studying, no ?

press buy on the powerbook.

?longer battery life (5hrs) (good for those loong meetings)