Why Apple's Transit Maps are rolling out so slowly

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 37
    bestkeptsecretbestkeptsecret Posts: 4,265member
    Kanjo said:
    I don't agree. My take of the same WWDC 11 minute  maps"session" video.
    https://atadistance.net/2016/07/03/apple-maps-cultural-curation-or-cultural-imperialism/

"What crap! Here, read my blog".

To his eternal credit, DED actually did.

lostkiwibadmonk
  • Reply 22 of 37
    kitatitkitatit Posts: 66member

kitatit said:
    I get it that it's a big task building out Apple maps, but every time I see Apple do a multi billion dollar buy back, I think how many people around the world they could employ on a temerry or permanent basis to do the local hands on mapping and data entry required to accelerate the build of Apple maps. 

Now I'm no expert on the value of buy backs, but the tens of billions spent don't seem to be good value in regards to Apple maintaining its "It just works reputation"

What good have the buy backs really done  except line the pockets of self interested twerps like Carl Ichan? See ya Carl......

Spend this money on maps and on debugging iOS before each release. With this much money to throw around, Apple maps should be the gold standard in every way.  Apple maps isn't bad, but it's not fantastic and that's what we expect when we pay top dollar.

Maps is absolutely essential to most people I know with a smart phone. My girlfriend and many fellow iOS users, have abandoned using Apple maps altogether, which is a real shame. I was helping a workmate look for a house to rent and was showing him the property using flyover. He was amazed as most people are. He didn't even know where to find Apple maps on his phone. It was buried in a folder collecting dust.