$369 Apple Watch Series 2 with GPS is swim-proof with 2x brighter display, white ceramic case

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 45
    kevin keekevin kee Posts: 1,289member
    NY1822 said:
    love all the new products but I need some clarification...I'm going to buy the new watch.
    1) If I go on a run and leave my phone at home, do I still get notifications?
    2) With built in GPS is the internet being used, and if so will it be LTE charged to my carrier plan?
    I am no expert, someone please clarify, but to answer your questions:
    1. No (No LTE)
    2. No (GPS != LTE)
  • Reply 42 of 45
    brucemcbrucemc Posts: 1,541member
    Watch was a grand slam. Definitely buying one.
    I thought it a very solid update, but IMO it was a double, not a grand slam.  It has been 2 years since the first one was presented.  Very useful new h/w features, and clear at this point that the focus on most improvements is for fitness / activities.  Was thinking that a barometer would have been a nice add for those folks, but perhaps it wouldn't work so well with the waterproofing (at this stage) - thought about that when they were presenting the hiking app (very cool!).

It won't entice me to upgrade from my gen 1 Apple Watch, but I realize that the target (as it should be) is to pull in some new users.  We heard lots of noise that waterproofing for swimming and GPS were holding others back, so hopefully they take the plunge.  Sales will rebound, though not sure that 2016 sales will be higher than 2015 (we can never know for sure).

Apple is taking a measured approach to Apple Watch, which I think is the right one.  The market for smartwatches is still in the very early stages - just branching from the really early adopters into the broader population.  I am sure that Apple is also constrained on the tech for miniaturizing all components to fit into the case.