Professor proves NAND mirroring attack thwarts iPhone 5c security protocols

Comments

• Reply 21 of 41
    So this 5c stymies the entire FBI who has to pay a hacker a zillion dollars to get it done and this guy does it in 40 hours with a $100 of hardware? Am I missing something here?
    big
  • Reply 22 of 41
    Rosyna said:
    hungover said:
    foggyhill said:
    Didn't we ALREADY know that. I actually knew that without even trying (because I'm a computer engineer).
    That; why Apple changed it later.
    It's not an easy attack though; if a person is doing that to your phone, I'm guessing you can spring for an Iphone 7...
    If Apple were aware that the data could be extracted from the 5c using that technique why did they refuse to help the FBI and insist that the only way to extract the data would require custom code that could fall into the hands of criminals?

Apple could have helped the FBI and then said "sorry guys, as much as we'd like to, we can't help you with any newer handsets" . Doing so would have been likely to have strengthened their case against future law enforcement demands and saved the public purse a shed load of money.
    No, what it proves is that the FBI never needed Apple's help at all. That the FBI's attempt to coerce a
    Apple was just to set a precedent so Apple couldn't refuse to help them in the future.

That's also why the FBI used a phone in PR that they knew had absolutely nothing of value on it.
    Sorry, I am having problems following your logic.

According to Foggyhill, Apple knew that the 5C could be subjected to a NAND attack when they released it (and presumably believed that the 5S, released at the same time would be protected from the method). He/she seems to be suggesting that it would have been common knowledge.

By insisting that the FBI never needed help, you appear to be concurring with him/her.