IBM deploying 1,300 Macs per week, Apple users need much less support than PC counterparts

Comments

• Reply 21 of 48
    geekmeegeekmee Posts: 629member
    I know...Let's not get ahead ourselves. But I have been a corporate windows app trainer for end users for over 20 years. There are two things that have consistent: 1.) Users remain ambivalent and clueless about the OS 2.) Users consistently hate the No Help support experience.
  • Reply 22 of 48
    I work for a very large tech company that has been allowing and supporting Macs for a while now. One of the biggest changes I have seen personally is how responsive IT is becoming for Mac support. They are already officially supporting Sierra. That means that they have tested all of our internal solutions are working fine or with acceptable caveats. They start with the betas and work with vendors on found issues, etc. Hard for me to believe they got it done this fast. I have never seen them move that fast to a new Windows release.
    lolliverpscooter63baconstangwatto_cobra
  • Reply 23 of 48
    GusMplsGusMpls Posts: 1unconfirmed, member
    brucemc said:
    Great hard data on support costs.

Interested to know if any data comes out regarding user experience / satisfaction.
    This was also discussed in Mr. Previn's presentation. Much higher csat for Mac users. The presentation should be available at Jamf's web site next week some time.
    williamlondon
  • Reply 24 of 48
    Worth considering that the macs are all new, while the thinkpads will all be a few years old so it's not that surprising there is a difference

They showed comparisons between the Lenovo T460 and Lenovo X1 Yoga vs MacBook and MacBook Pro. Those Lenovos are not a few years old. The T460 was launched in Feb 2016.

So much for your theory.
    Do you have a source for that? I couldn't find anything online and the infographic just says "PC"
  • Reply 25 of 48
    wood1208 said: