New MacBook Pro drops optical audio out through headphone jack

Comments

• Reply 21 of 84
    lkrupp said:
    As someone has already pointed out, Apple’s explanation of why they left the headphone jack in the new MacBooks is total bullshit. Professional audio power users use USB interfaces, NOT the analog 3.5mm jack. They used to use Firewire until Apple gave up on it. Hell, even I use a USB Phono Plus interface to get vinyl LPs into my iMac. It has a built-in RIAA phono pre-amp input, standard line in/out, optical in/out, and digital coax s/pdif in. And I’m just an amateur hobbyist. 

There is NO logical reason for the headphone jack to be on the new MacBooks if the iPhone 7 doesn’t. 
    Hmm... Well, to be fair, pro audio people also use 1/4" audio jacks (which are analog).
    baconstang
  • Reply 22 of 84
    Ra_Ra_ Posts: 4member
    The only two posts I've ever made here under any name, so far as I recall, were in the last couple days pointing out to all the people commenting about them not removing the audio jack that the optical functionality was an often forgotten about important (arguably, or at least neat) feature of the macs... le sigh. I'll miss it if it is true that it is removed. I used it for connecting to my 5.1 digital input pc speakers, as well as on rare occasions other devices.
    randominternetpersondysamoriabaconstang
  • Reply 23 of 84
    Can things get any worse?
  • Reply 24 of 84
    hexclockhexclock Posts: 1,243member
    lkrupp said:
    As someone has already pointed out, Apple’s explanation of why they left the headphone jack in the new MacBooks is total bullshit. Professional audio power users use USB interfaces, NOT the analog 3.5mm jack. They used to use Firewire until Apple gave up on it. Hell, even I use a USB Phono Plus interface to get vinyl LPs into my iMac. It has a built-in RIAA phono pre-amp input, standard line in/out, optical in/out, and digital coax s/pdif in. And I’m just an amateur hobbyist.