Apple's engineering in new MacBook Pro paves way for speedy Optane storage in future models

Comments

• Reply 21 of 75
    melgrossmelgross Posts: 33,510member
    safi said:
    mtbnut said:
    But, but, but, I need more than 16GB of RAM. (whining, crying baby emoticon) 
    Yes we do. I am a developer and very often I have 3-4-5 VMs running. You are nothing but an uneducated little fool who would buy a MacBook Pro even if it cost $10000. We all like apple and all but you don't have to Xxxxxxxxxx.
    Watch the language, please. If you can't find a better way to express yourself, don't do it at all.
    pscooter63polymniastevehjdwwatto_cobrapulseimages
  • Reply 22 of 75
    rezwitsrezwits Posts: 879member
    "WhoooHooo you're all clear kid let's blow this thing and GO HOME!" - Han Solo, EP IV No More RAM, APFS File System, 2018-19 rMBP Gen 3 or 4! (maybe even over 1TB of storage, standard? nah we'll get raped still)
  • Reply 23 of 75
    polymnia said:
    Bzzt!

"Optane will only work with Kaby Lake and newer CPUs, although Intel will support 64-bit versions of Windows 7 through Windows 10. This should help move the industry off of previous generations of silicon and help cement Kaby Lake as the processor of choice." Read more: http://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/intel-micron-3d-xpoint-new-details-emerge/#ixzz4PRtQjsdx 

And as we all know, the new Macbooks are all powered by Sky Lake procs.
    What part of "Paves the way…for future models" from the headline of this article did you not understand?

My understanding is Apple switched the part of the memory system that they can with the current hardware. Optane memory isn't used in the current model. But once it is, presumably in the next update, the rest of the MacBook Pro design is ready for it.

In the meantime, the SSD in this MBP is much faster than the outgoing model.