Apple Pay now works with Square Cash 'virtual debit cards'

Posted:
in iPhone edited December 2016
Minutes after Apple Pay chief Jennifer Bailey offered a brief update on Apple's payments product at Re/code's Code Commerce conference, Square CEO Jack Dorsey on Tuesday announced immediate integration with Square Cash virtual cards.

Debuted onstage in San Francisco, the new Apple Pay integration allows Square Cash users to pay for items wherever Apple Pay is accepted.

The feature is enabled through Square Cash's virtual debit card system, which debuted in September through a partnership with Visa. Like a traditional debit card, Square's virtual version lets customers apply their Square Cash account balance to purchases made through online retailers.

"I've been using this as my primary card for about two months," Dorsey said, adding that he uses his card on purchases like Netflix and Blue Bottle coffee.

Square Cash started life as a free peer-to-peer payments solution, but recently moved on to retail thanks to the virtual debit card initiative. Today's Apple Pay integration brings Square Cash into brick-and-mortar shops that accept mobile payments, further legitimizing the service as a viable payments solution contender.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    Not sure why you'd use those over your normal debit card in apple pay. I don't know anyone that uses square cash, much less keeps a balance on it. 
    mike1
  • Reply 2 of 8
    Rayz2016Rayz2016 Posts: 6,957member
    securtis said:
    Not sure why you'd use those over your normal debit card in apple pay. I don't know anyone that uses square cash, much less keeps a balance on it. 
    Not sure I get this either.  You load up Square Cash so you now have a card that's not directly connected to your bank account? Then you add that to Apple Pay which hides your bank account anyway?
    mike1
  • Reply 3 of 8
    digitoldigitol Posts: 276member