Apple culture of secrecy claimed to cause Swift lead's exit, but Chris Lattner denies repo...

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 60

Seriously, these people are paid big bucks and can't keep their mouths shut? Unless talking about your work helps improve the work, there should be no reason to feel constrained. I work in health care and am "constrained" to keep patient health information private. Lawyers can't talk about their clients. Etc.

I tend to think these people wanted to do something different and, as everyone tends to, they came up with excuses to rationalize the departure.

• Reply 42 of 60
    canukstormcanukstorm Posts: 2,693member
    mjtomlin said:
    Gotta love when when people comment on unofficial "reports" and start to lay blame where ever they can. 

I have first hand hand knowledge that Chris was planning on leaving Apple after Swift went open source and was "finished". Which was version 3.0.

This ridiculousness about secrecy is pure speculation. All of his projects are opened sources. 
    Wasn't ABI Stabilization part of the original Swift 3.0 plan?  If so, then it's not finished.

Apple’s Chris Lattner, original creator of the Swift language, has recently announced on the Swift Evolution mailing list that ABI stability, one of the goals originally planned for Swift 3, will be postponed.

In Lattner’s own words:
    Some of the loftier goals that we started out with aren’t going to fit into the release - including some of the most important generics features needed in order to lock down the ABI of the standard library.

https://www.infoq.com/news/2016/05/swift-3-no-stable-abi

flaneur said:
    See Gruber's link to a post by Chris Lattner today. I get an impression the situation is much less sinister than this "stifling secrecy" narrative implies.

http://daringfireball.net/