$1500 challenge...

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
To establish a little context first, I am a college student studying both biochemistry and German. Right now I have a Pismo 400 Powerbook -- which I love most dearly -- the swappable batteries, etc., etc. However, since my school is pretty reasonably priced (state schools are WONDERFUL things), I have some money with which to invest in a new Mac -- specifically I want to get another notebook. I would like to see what you guys can recommend in the $1500 - $2000 price range in terms of Apple notebooks. I've been wracking my brain now for a few weeks -- the new PBs are tempting, but after reading the recent thread about financing Macs, I know that I want to stay under two grand, preferably around $1500.

To give the recs a little guidance, I am serious about moving up to a G4 processor at last -- but if those of you who have used the 800 MHz IBM-G3 driven iBooks would contribute, please tell me how they compare in moderate usage applications (i.e. I do Photoshop work with hi-resolution digital photographs and produce high-level publications with the combination of InDesign/Illustrator) compared to a G4 at about the same or lesser speed. Right now Photoshop 7 takes almost 2 minutes to complete boot, not to mention how much time I get to spend watching the progress bars move across the screen when I open up (not even mentioning manipulating) a large item in Photoshop.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 14
    to add to this...I am a member with Apple's student developer program, so that helps quite a bit...right now (thanks to another highly similar thread) I am also swerved toward the 12" Mini PowerBook -- I can get it for US$1599 leaving me space to get AppleCare, etc.

....oh...what decisions....
  • Reply 2 of 14
    The new iBooks will be noticeably faster than your Pismo ... not only a faster clock, but the bus-speed is faster as well. This adds up to a huge improvement !