DirecTV Now dropping Safari support for browser streaming in favor of Chrome exclusivity

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 54
    Bean counter decision
  • Reply 42 of 54
    linkmanlinkman Posts: 1,035member
    We are heading back to 1998 browser compatibility...
    tallest skilpscooter63
  • Reply 43 of 54
    I get that there are technical challenges out there, but in this day and age, the notion that any modern web site can't run properly on any modern browser strikes me as being lame. Just lame.
  • Reply 44 of 54
    WTF?  Are they going to require FLASH or something?  No impact on me since I don't watch TV, but it sure seems silly. 

• Reply 45 of 54
    croprcropr Posts: 1,124member
    slurpy said:
    Wow, who made this monumentally stupid decision? Dropping Safari support is insane and moronic. IE I can understand, but Safari?
    Well as a web developer I can only say that Safari is no longer one of the top browsers wrt. emerging Web technologies.  Things like Beacon, Service Workers, permission Api, WebRTC, asm.js are all supported on Chrome Firefox and Opera, but not on Safari (WebRTC is luckily coming).  Even Internet Edge has on some points better support than Safari.

So as a web developer I understand their position (but I don't agree to it)
  • Reply 46 of 54
    MacProMacPro Posts: 19,727member
    slurpy said:
    Wow, who made this monumentally stupid decision? Dropping Safari support is insane and moronic. IE I can understand, but Safari?
    My guess is they have tested the new Safari in High Sierra and discovered it isn't going to allow it to work they way they want anyway.  I couold be wrong but the new Safari is silky smooth, fast and doesn't allow fancy tricks in videos such as CNN pull.

gatorguy
  • Reply 47 of 54