Phone X event at Steve Jobs Theater frames the future of Apple, Inc.

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 29
    Great article thank Dan.  I'm new to AppleInsider to really appreciated this article.

I'm quite taken with the X.  It's the upgrade I'm wanting from my 6S.  My wife has a 7 Plus and it's great.  I want something with a comparable screen which fits in a a suit trousers (as I'm a Doctor). 
    You won't get more screen height in landscape mode. If you do a lot of landscape switching consider the 8 Plus.
    How do you figure that?
    iPhone X
    2436x1125 @3x
    1125/3 = 375

iPhone 7
    1334x750 @2x
    750/2 = 375

Same as iPhone 7

Ah, gotcha — I kinda missed that in the whole Gruber breakdown. So, the same number of points will be stretched out over a larger screen size on the X. 
    In horizontal dimension yes.
    Ah, gotcha — I kinda missed that in the whole Gruber breakdown. So, the same number of points will be stretched out over a larger screen size on the X. So slightly enlarged over the 7/8, like the Plus (but without the extra real estate)?
    Aspect ratios are different. LCD models are 16:9. That one is a tall, bizarre display, something like 19.5:9.

edited September 2017 fastasleep
  • Reply 22 of 29
    Great article thank Dan.  I'm new to AppleInsider to really appreciated this article.

I'm quite taken with the X.  It's the upgrade I'm wanting from my 6S.  My wife has a 7 Plus and it's great.  I want something with a comparable screen which fits in a a suit trousers (as I'm a Doctor). 
    You won't get more screen height in landscape mode. If you do a lot of landscape switching consider the 8 Plus.
    How do you figure that?
    iPhone X
    2436x1125 @3x
    1125/3 = 375

iPhone 7
    1334x750 @2x
    750/2 = 375

Same as iPhone 7

Ah, gotcha — I kinda missed that in the whole Gruber breakdown. So, the same number of points will be stretched out over a larger screen size on the X. 
    In horizontal dimension yes.