Apple's $4,999 all-in-one iMac Pro launches Thursday, Dec. 14

Comments

• Reply 61 of 150
    dewme said:
    Still blows my mind that this is a pro machine but you can’t get inside of it. I can understand most of Apple’s portable products being sealed but professional workstations? Why? Even the 27” iMac allows upgrades to the RAM. 
    I don't know what you do, but I'm a software dev in household brand fortune 100 & 500 companies. I have never, ever seen any of our IT department perform component upgrades on our workstations. Never. Machines are retired and swapped out only. Corporate workstations are not DIY tinkerer toys.
    Finally, I hesitate to put too much emphasis on looking at the iMac Pro through the lens of how it fits into software development organizations because I don't believe that SW dev is really the target for this machine. In fact Apple is currently rather weak across the board for supporting the full spectrum of modern SW dev operations like DevOps, Ci/CD, Agile, SAFe, cloud computing, etc. It's just not Apple's focus at this time. They are going after the high intensity creatives who need massive computing power sitting right there in front of them on their desk.
    To the contrary -- during the recent Mac Pro press event, when they announced the iMac Pro Craig and Phil cited specifically that, judging by Xcode installs, software dev appears to be their largest pro market, and they stated a significant part of their user base is iMac and not MP.  Thus, the iMac Pro.

Second on the list is iMacs — used by pros, again by the people who use professional software day in, day out, not just casually. [...]

A growing group for us is software developers. We’re obviously responsible for software tools and SDKs and much more there. And we’re continuing to invest in that, all the way from languages to compilers to tools, etc. Our dedication remains really strong on all of that.