Startup seeks $200,000 from Apple over 'stolen' Shortcuts app icon

124»

Comments

• Reply 61 of 76
    SpamSandwichSpamSandwich Posts: 33,407member
    Anachr0n said:
    I’m no expert on how different is different enough. But I do think the resemblance would be enough to cause confusion. I wouldn’t be surprised if a year from now people think they stole Apples logo. 

$200,00 is nothing when you consider what involved in re-branding a company.

Heck, Steve Jobs paid 1 million just to design the Next logo. 
    Jobs didn’t pay $1 million for a logo, he paid for Paul Rand’s lifetime of design experience.
  • Reply 62 of 76
    robin huberrobin huber Posts: 3,956member
    ascii said:
    They're not asking for a fortune, seems like a legitimate complaint rather than a rort.
    That’s the beauty part, so much less than most nuisance lawsuits that Apple could make this go away with pocket change. Less than it would cost to defend. P.S., hope they don’t. 
  • Reply 63 of 76
    Lol, they spent 200k on that POS logo... damn I am in such a wrong industry
  • Reply 64 of 76
    macxpressmacxpress Posts: 5,808member
    slurpy said:
    Total horse-shit. I wouldn't mistake the 2 logos in a million years. Apple has always used those app shapes for logos and different marketing purposes. Also lol @ needing $200,000 to "rebrand".
    Yeah its more like they need $200,000 to get their product off the ground. They're trying to use Apple as a SharkTank investor here.
  • Reply 65 of 76
    evilutionevilution Posts: 1,399member

"It's mind-blowing that Apple, the firm with the biggest cash pile in history, the firm that is so design oriented, had to copy our logo," a Shift spokesperson said. 
    lol, pull your head out of your ass. You don't honestly believe they copied your logo right?
    I'm sure the premise came to them in the same way it came to your designer. It's a very simple logo.