Apple refreshes MacBook Pro with six-core processors, 32GB of RAM

Comments

• Reply 21 of 236
    brucemcbrucemc Posts: 1,541member
    DuhSesame said:
    Finally.  How’s the keyboard?
    I have been using one of these new ones for a few months now, and find it is greatly improved...
    williamlondon
  • Reply 22 of 236
    tipootipoo Posts: 1,141member

Is there any detail anywhere on what the Radeon Pro 555X is?

Does the X just denote the 4GB VRAM in all tiers now, and the chip is largely unchanged from the 555? That's what it sounds like, I'm surprised there's no Vega though. The 555 in turn was the same as the 455, so the GPU itself is largely unchanged from the 2016 mid tier model.

watto_cobra
  • Reply 23 of 236
    seankillseankill Posts: 566member
    Where’s the “no one needs 32GB of RAM” crowd? 
    Clearly Apple thinks the customers need it........... 

The market demanded it, Apple listened. 

Edit:  
    Nevermind, they are already downplaying the fact they were wrong. 
    edited July 2018 avon b7lamboaudi4williamlondonAvieshekAlex1N
  • Reply 24 of 236
    bkkcanuckbkkcanuck Posts: 864member
    seankill said:

Now if they could just rip out the guts of that one and put it in a Mac Mini :open_mouth: 

• Reply 25 of 236
    DuhSesameDuhSesame Posts: 1,278member
    seankill said:

Or is because Intel is too slow so it doesn’t worth to wait another year.  DDR4 sounds more like a compromise.

32GiB is always nicer than 16GiB by the way.
    edited July 2018 watto_cobraAlex1N
  • Reply 26 of 236
    Totally unexpected! Dissapointed with base model, but it makes sense.
    watto_cobra
  • Reply 27 of 236
    asciiascii Posts: 5,936member
    tipoo said:

Does the X just denote the 4GB VRAM in all tiers now, and the chip is largely unchanged from the 555? That's what it sounds like, I'm surprised there's no Vega though. The 555 in turn was the same as the 455, so the GPU itself is largely unchanged from the 2016 mid tier model.