How to choose between notepads, text editors, and word processors for your Mac or iPad

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 28
    FolioFolio Posts: 698member
    I’m stuck with MS Office, though not enamored with Word. Amazing can still charge so much despite very capable cheaper alternatives. Legacy rules, I guess, until suddenly it doesn’t. Is a like-minded AI piece possible on Music Memos, GarageBand, Logic, etc.? While doing Computer Music research, I’m surprised (anecdotally skimming profiles) how many big name professionals are using Logic Pro in last few years. For $200, I’m thinking of finally making the jump, though I'm a mere hobbyist.
  • Reply 22 of 28
    All right--going to say it: Google Docs. It's very likely what the vast majority of your kids already use at school. No it doesn't have all the features of Word but it does all the basics well enough, and the collaboration features are slick.
  • Reply 23 of 28
    dr. xdr. x Posts: 282member
    Folio said:
    I’m stuck with MS Office, though not enamored with Word. Amazing can still charge so much despite very capable cheaper alternatives. Legacy rules, I guess, until suddenly it doesn’t. Is a like-minded AI piece possible on Music Memos, GarageBand, Logic, etc.? While doing Computer Music research, I’m surprised (anecdotally skimming profiles) how many big name professionals are using Logic Pro in last few years. For $200, I’m thinking of finally making the jump, though I'm a mere hobbyist.
    Have you given LibreOffice a try? I use it for accounting and for word documents sometimes at work and it works amazingly well. It's free, open source, and well maintained. I'm happy to be free of Microsoft Office. I still save the files in Office format just in case someone needs to open then for compatibility reasons.

• Reply 24 of 28
    dr. xdr. x Posts: 282member
    dewme said:
    dr. x said:
    What about LibreOffice, http://libreoffice.com free and open source.