Evernote might be in trouble, so here's how to get your notes out of it completely and saf...

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 27
    Thanks for the info. Not stated is another negative: it doesn't export tag information, based on my experiments, unless you export as HTML, where it loses the folder stack. I organize my notes using a tag hierarchy, because the notebook hierarchy can only go two levels deep - which is dumb.

I have long had issues with Evernote. The fact that, in reality, they do not offer a way to properly export your data is predatory in my mind.

And, their editor and formatting have been substandard forever.

But... I don't know of a good alternative, although I am now backing up frequently and wish I could write a script to do it automatically. I use Android for my mobile devices (because I'm an Android developer), so Apple Notes doesn't cut it. Dropbox does provide a way to sync, but it is file based.

I also found it a bit odd that the company was reported to be "circling the drain" supposedly because the user base is not growing. Do all Internet companies have to grow forever?
    edited September 2018
  • Reply 22 of 27
    chasmchasm Posts: 3,303member
    For those of us who don't have thousands of notes in EN and/or don't like subscriptions, the Apple Notes method outlined above is the way to go (or OneNote if you are already using that; unlike Office generally, OneNote is free). While I'm also hoping that Evernote will be okay in the long run, this was a very practical and helpful article to remind us all that almost any online service can "go away," and that it is good to have a backup and/or transportable-format copy of that data.
    GeorgeBMaccgWerks
  • Reply 23 of 27
    Exporting all notes from Evernote sometimes chokes on <inexplicable error>. Just saying don't set it to export and walk away! You can also export to html, which is more work but more compatible than the enex files from EN.