Future path of Apple's App Stores at stake in Monday's Supreme Court arguments

Comments

• Reply 21 of 180
    Mike WuertheleMike Wuerthele Posts: 6,861administrator

Johan42 said:
    avon b7 said:
    I'm for choice in distribution models and less power for store controllers.

I'd like to see developers have the option to opt out of the App Store if it suits their needs and for Apple to have less say on what is 'acceptable' or not. Likewise, choice would then extend to the end user.
    The open web exists for that. The App Store should be apple controlled.
    Apple wants to hoard as much money as possible, which is why they make it nearly impossible for the average user to side load apps. Controlling what I can or can’t do with my phone...pfft.
    Xcode is free. Sideload all you want from there.
    randominternetpersonmacplusplusnetmageStrangeDaysJWSCradarthekatunsui_grep
  • Reply 22 of 180
    carnegiecarnegie Posts: 1,078member
    steven n. said:
    As a developer, I love the single store concept and increased visibility allowing cheaper prices to my constomers because of increased volume. Sounds win-win to me. 
    Apple developers should band together and file amicus briefs with the court in support of Apple. 

This frivolous lawsuit is an insult and dangerous to the earnings potential for all Apple developers.
    Some of them did. Both the BSA / The Software Alliance and the ACT / The App Association filed briefs in support of Apple.
    SpamSandwichn2itivguynetmageJWSC
  • Reply 23 of 180
    carnegie said:
    steven n. said:
    As a developer, I love the single store concept and increased visibility allowing cheaper prices to my constomers because of increased volume. Sounds win-win to me. 
    Apple developers should band together and file amicus briefs with the court in support of Apple. 

This frivolous lawsuit is an insult and dangerous to the earnings potential for all Apple developers.