Apple's 'modular' Mac Pro design may mean units that connect like Lego bricks

Comments

• Reply 21 of 81
    This is space other vendors already mastered. Even current toy Raspberry Pi and similar factor computers have that. Do you really want to build rack with specialized modules or nice computer with unified modular architecture with hidden (nicely packaged) modules?
    spliff monkey
  • Reply 22 of 81
    auxioauxio Posts: 2,727member
    RINGWALL said:
    I am a professional video editor and photographer. Have been using macs since power PC. The software/hardware support has been such a failure for the the pro market since final cut pro 10. Even the manager at the apple store told me recently-while I was complaining about the poor service  considering the tens of thousands ive spent over the years-apple doesn't care about pro users any more, it makes luxury products (actual quote verbatim). 

Either way, I still own Apple products, but all my professional work has long since transferred to PC where I spend half as much, get three times more and am not constantly dissapointed. 
    And yet, in my profession, everyone has transitioned to Macs because they increase productivity tremendously due to less maintenance headache (no need for drivers, no flakey updates, etc), better quality tools which don't require a subscription model to use, and the ability to run Mac, Windows, and Linux on the same machine.

cornchipradarthekatmacxpress
  • Reply 23 of 81
    elijahgelijahg Posts: 2,759member
    crowley said:
    ireland said:
    The holy grail of modular design?
    The holy grail of unnecessary bespoke chassis and cooling nightmares.

The convenience of the stackable modules is wholly out of whack with how often you'll need to be modifying the stack, and would cause huge downstream problems that are way, way more detrimental than convenience.

Form over function to the nth degree.
    Therefore the design is confirmed, no?  ;)