AT&T CEO claims HBO will glean consumer data from Apple TV viewers

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 37
    SoliSoli Posts: 10,035member
    Soli said:
    This shouldn't be confusing. Any on-demand, streaming service will have to authenticate the user account and you can easily check most (all?) of them to see a history of your viewing habits. This is all done via the streaming service's servers, which Apple has no control.
    If your subscription is with Apple, then Apple authenticates you and takes their cut. You are then just a number to AT&T or any other on-demand content provider.
    So you're saying that if I have an HBO subscription that I can't switch from my Apple TV to another device that logs into HBO's service because they're not tied together? That I won't be able to stop on particular episode of GoT and be able to pick it up from another device because HBO won't have a clue about my subscription? I know I don't want that. I like that I can watch Netflix or Hulu on my Apple TV and then start up on another device via the browser without having to figure out where the hell I had previously stopped.
    randominternetperson
  • Reply 22 of 37
    If you want to have HBO in the ATV App you need an HBO subscription, the stream itself comes from HBO, so they now perfectly what you are watching, but they don't get all the other stuff, they do not know what else you are watching trough the ATV app ... this all discussion is semantics ... he is just trying to damage Apple's reputation, I just do not get why ...

StrangeDaysbshank
  • Reply 23 of 37
    gatorguygatorguy Posts: 24,213member
    temperor said:
    ... he is just trying to damage Apple's reputation, I just do not get why ...

Huh? The conversation he was having was not about Apple. That was just addressed in a question from a media member (investor?) about 7 minutes into the video.
    edited March 2019 muthuk_vanalingamrandominternetperson
  • Reply 24 of 37
    maestro64 said: