US Supreme Court greenlights lawsuit over App Store monopoly

Comments

• Reply 61 of 86
    indieshackindieshack Posts: 328member
    As a developer, I always thought the basic app price split was an OK one. However, I can see the ongoing subscription splits are problematic for some companies. If this ruling was to hold up (I don't think it will longterm, the supreme court didn't actually rule on the merits and the split decision was a squeeker, supported by a traditionally conservative justice) it would seriously damage Apple which gets something like $10 billion/quarter from services, which are mostly made up from app store cuts.
  • Reply 62 of 86
    slurpyslurpy Posts: 5,384member
    How the fuck would multiple appstores on iOS even work? My head hurts about thinking about all the security, privacy, stability implications. It's gross. How absurd. 
    cornchip
  • Reply 63 of 86
    SpamSandwichSpamSandwich Posts: 33,407member
    ElCapitan said:
    Good! 

When Apple censors content – and that is not only happening to some US "right wing" groups and individuals, but it happens across all the countries in which they have a presence, it is time to let others have equal opportunity to bring content to the platform, just like they can on macOS.  

It is up to the individual to decide how they use, and what content the device will carry, the minute the device is no longere Apple property. Apple is currently blocking this from happening (without possibly jailbreaking the device), and that cannot stand. 
    Apple manages and censors things they sell through their services. Via the web and a browser instead virtually everything is available.
  • Reply 64 of 86
    bulk001bulk001 Posts: 764member