Software roundup: Digital art programs for traditional artists

Posted:
in General Discussion edited July 2019
Whether you're a digital artist or a traditional artist looking to work digitally, there's a lot of software out there to choose from. Fortunately, we managed to take a look at three macOS apps in hopes of helping you find the perfect tool for the job.

I'm always wary to say that I'm an artist, but for the purpose of this article, let's just say I am. I have several years of traditional painting training under my belt and I've held a few jobs that have required me to produce art in a professional capacity. This gives me at least a bit of insight into what makes a digital art program worthwhile.

Not to mention, I have spent about a decade learning that digitally painting in Photoshop is more hassle than it's worth, and that if you can find a better tool for the job you should always use it.

I did a bit of research and found that there are three highly regarded programs for creating digital art with a more traditional bend to them. This style is often preferred by character designers, hobbyist artists, traditional-to-digital crossover artists, and just as a personal aesthetic preference.

It's worth noting that I'm not going to be featuring any vector-based programs, though I do have you covered in that regard.

It's my hope that I can set other digital artists onto the path of using the correct software for the correct job. After all, you should work smarter, not harder.

Rebelle 3

Image created with Rebelle 3

Years ago I had been approached by Escape Motions and asked if I wanted to review their new art program, Rebelle. Rebelle was treading down a path that not many had gone down at that time-- emulating real-time watercolor painting. Seeing as I am a watercolor painter in real life, I had fallen in love with it.

I recently got to try out Rebelle 3, and I'm happy to say it's still a solid program.