Mac Pro versus iMac Pro: how to choose the best pro Mac

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 53
    For my situation I leave my iMac monitor on 24/7. Under this usage, the screen's lifetime is about 3 years. How long will the new Pro Display XDR last under this level of usage?
  • Reply 42 of 53
    DRBDRB Posts: 34member
    eightzero said:
    jhalmos said:
    You know what, just take the processor out of the iMac Pro, put it in a nice box, and sell that. I don't need the monitor.

Oh ya, and because I'm talking to Apple, remember to drop the price accordingly since NO MONITOR.
    That would be an very interesting (dare we say it?) Mac Mini Pro. 
    I've been sending Apple suggestions for a MacMiniPro for about 5 years or so. My idea would be a high end i9 with a few slots, etc. etc. in a thick slab type case where it's priced between a MacMini and a MacPro. Something that addresses the Prosumer customer.
  • Reply 43 of 53
    YP101YP101 Posts: 159member
    Unless Apple redesign iMac Pro to user replace RAM and CPU, there is not much reason to buy iMac Pro now.
    iMac Pro or new Mac Pro, you need to spend at least $5,000. At this point would you rather settle for  5K panel or 12 RAM slot and 8 PCI slot expansion?
    iMac Pro has only 4 RAM slot that require monitor remove.

New pro XDR monitor case very good choice to update iMac Pro.. But I don't think Apple will do..
    At this point Apple might kill iMac Pro.
    Just more spec bump to 27' iMac. Same 5K panel at least user replaceable RAM slot.

For Mac mini pro, if Apple decide to create one then it will have just 2 PCI slot and maybe 4 RAM slot.
    It will shape like G4 cube. I don't think Apple will create the box that fit full size GPU.
    2 PCI solt give you 1 slot for half size GPU and other slot for NVME PCI converter to more SSD space.
    If it has PCI SSD slot in mainboard then we are lucky.(I think more like soldered SSD.)

• Reply 44 of 53
    DuhSesameDuhSesame Posts: 1,278member
    tht said: