Scotland police don't seem to have any problem getting data off locked iPhones

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 24
    The biggest problem with requiring Apple to put a back door in its devices is that it will inevitably be more useful to the bad guys than the good guys and then law enforcement will be hastily asking Apple to remove the back door as money flows out of the accounts of the world’s citizens and into the coffers of the crims! I worked in law enforcement intelligence for many years and what you soon come to realise is that the bad guys have far better and greater resources than law enforcement agencies do AND, by their very nature, they don’t care about rules, policies or the law in how they utilise those resources. No back door that Apple could conceivably put in their devices will be immune from being used by criminals. They will find it and they will use it... then you can kiss any form of privacy (and your money) goodbye.
    watto_cobra
  • Reply 22 of 24
    The biggest problem with requiring Apple to put a back door in its devices is that it will inevitably be more useful to the bad guys than the good guys and then law enforcement will be hastily asking Apple to remove the back door as money flows out of the accounts of the world’s citizens and into the coffers of the crims! I worked in law enforcement intelligence for many years and what you soon come to realise is that the bad guys have far better and greater resources than law enforcement agencies do AND, by their very nature, they don’t care about rules, policies or the law in how they utilise those resources. No back door that Apple could conceivably put in their devices will be immune from being used by criminals. They will find it and they will use it... then you can kiss any form of privacy (and your money) goodbye.