When will developers make use of AddressBook?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I am not a developer.

The point of Apple's new AddressBook, as I understand it, is to be the central repository of all contact information. I have yet to see this implemented.

Apps that claim to use this feature, (Daylite, Apimac AddressBook, et al) must sync with AddressBook. This of course means that the user must decide which info should override the other that is being sync'ed.

I don't want to make this decision. If I edit a contact in Daylite (or any other app with contacts) that change should be made in the AddressBook. (And vice versa.) I shouldn't have to sync this later. It should be done concurrently because you are always really working in AddressBook.

Have I totally misunderstood this central repository idea or have the software developers failed to implement it according to the concept?

So far, this has been a disappointment to me as I switched over to AddressBook anticipating this development. It seems to me that software developers are OK with the idea as long as you use their app and just sync every once in a while to keep Apple's 'Book current. That sounds like the same as it always was.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 24
    mbezzombezzo Posts: 77member
    yeah, I hear ya there. That could be such an amazing feature. I was very surprised how long it took for envelope printing software to tie in with address book. Luckily there are several now that do, my favorite being Snail Mail.

It's difficult to understand why developers choose to create their own address books within programs instead of tying into address book. Is it difficult to implement or something?

Lets hope we see more software take advantage of this cool feature soon!
  • Reply 2 of 24
    kim kap solkim kap sol Posts: 2,987member
    Quote:

Originally posted by kcmac

I am not a developer.