Files Freezing

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I have a stupid question possibly but I am new to a Mac so I just ask everything. Occasionally I can't move files around anymore when working in 10.2.4 with the latest security updates. It is not just on the desktop and not just limited to files. I can't remove cd's by moving them to trash or just arrange files even. I am on a Powerbook 867 15" and was just wondering if anyone knows what is going on. Unfortunately with all my work going on (new job and everything) I can't seem to ever find the time to just sit down and play with this thing.

Another problem I am having is that I can't seem to be able to let my PC's see my Mac on my lan even though my Mac can see my PC's. Is there something special I have to do on the Mac to make it show up on the network browser under Windows XP or is the problem on the Mac side? Someone please try and help me as I have asked some of these questions before and they never get answered. I'm not whining but I really do need the help.

Third problem added:

I can't seem to get a bookmark under Netscape to show its contents on the toolbar when I make it my personal bookmark folder. I have done the steps needed many times and after I do it, the files just don't display there. This is really annoying for me as I do not work well with the Bookmarks folder unless I have my default links to be able to easily click on.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    I too get the problem where drag and drop stops working. It usually occurs after some finder crashes, but I don't know it's cause. And the only solution is to reboot.

As for bookmarks, have you tried safari?
  • Reply 2 of 11
    jpp1cdjpp1cd Posts: 135member