ProtonMail CEO says Apple strong-armed adoption of in-app purchases

Comments

• Reply 21 of 71
    mcdavemcdave Posts: 1,927member
    He likens App Store approvals to a trial - as if he knows he’s done something wrong.
    So they got away with violating App Store guidelines and call Apple the Mafia when they catch them.
    How can you trust the integrity of a product when the developer clearly has none.
    montrosemacswatto_cobra
  • Reply 22 of 71
    sflocal said:
    Yup, this is the Apple I know as a developer. They are like the mafia. Time they get in serious trouble with the EU and get forced to clean house.
    You're that rude guest that enters someone else's house, and then whine about how the owner runs it.

I you want the wild-west and anything-goes mentality, then stick to developing on Android.  The reason iOS is so popular and profitable is for those exact reasons you hate it.

As a developer myself, I remember the days of boxed software and self-marketing and particularly all the overhead.  
    Ummm ... Android is even more popular and even more profitable. Android market share: 85%. Android app revenue when ALL app stores are added in including the #1 app market in the world - China - that Google Play is not present: more than the App Store and has been for years. Of course, I am not saying that Apple should adopt Google's model and I am particularly not saying that the government should force them to. But it is past time for people like you to finally admit that both the Android and the iOS models are extremely successful. Google rode Android from being a tiny company that was legitimately threatened with being run out of business by the combination of Yahoo and Microsoft to a $1 trillion valuation. Had it not been for Android, Google would be a unit of Microsoft, Yahoo, Oracle or even Tencent by now. Seriously, check Google's market cap in 2011, before Android really took off thanks to the Samsung Galaxy S2 and Galaxy Note, and now.