Apple, Prepear enter settlement negotiations over fruit logo trademark

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 36
    lkrupp said:
    All of you who are trashing Apple over this completely underestimate the abject stupidity of the human race. Who would confuse a pear logo with an apple logo? Millions upon millions of the stupid class. 
    Speak for yourself. 
    muthuk_vanalingamelijahgchemengin1
  • Reply 22 of 36
    MicDorsey said:
    As a longtime graphic designer, I am keenly aware of issues related to company branding. Logo creation is an expensive and time-consuming undertaking. When a company's brand becomes associated with attributes such as success, quality goods and services, and strong reputation, defending that branding becomes critical both commercially and legally.

Just as important, a fledgling company must create a brand that distinguishes it from others, regardless of how similar or dissimilar the companies may be. In its endeavor to stand apart, the nascent company must be free to adopt a compelling design while taking great care not to create confusion in the marketplace.

In this case, I would say Apple is being heavy handed and not at all reasonable. Apple's case has nothing to do with the likelihood of product confusion or diminution of company value. It simply comes down to getting pissy simply because another company has dared to represent itself with a minimalist piece of fruit.

I would love to see this dispute go to trial, with Apple being liable for Prepear's total accumulated legal expenses, plus some punitive damages.
    Didn’t you hear that Apple is opening a chain of fruit stands? Pears will be their specialty.
  • Reply 23 of 36
    sdw2001sdw2001 Posts: 18,016member