Apple requests return of Apple Silicon Developer Transition Kits, offers $200 toward purch...

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 58
    cloudguy said:
    You can still develop on the Intel Macs.

Not a developer I see. Why do so many people who have never been developers presume to know so much about those who are? (I am a former developer myself by the way.)
    I said develop on, not testing. If they waited for the end of the lease to get a production ASi Mac, then can continue to code using Xcode on Intel Macs.  Xcode still works on Intel Macs. Those Intel Macs are not obsolete to code on, especially not the Mac Pros. You are not going to have someone who needs a Mac Pro to fit their workflow in to the current line of ASi Macs. I love my ASi Mac Mini and don’t see why anyone in production would wait to get a real ASi Mac to test on. The fact remains, the Intel Macs are still useful for developing. 
    This "not a developer" argument is stupid:
    • The "developer" knew they had a one year lease (even people who watched the keynote knew this). We are in month 7 of 12: if the ARM app isn't done, then there's nothing stopping a tested deployment of just the intel-based version.
    • What kind of developer doesn't have a plan in place for when that year is up? If it's such a huge inconvenience then they need to plan around it, again it's only month 7 of 12.
    • Ordinary developers don't need the early access kit, the M1 systems have impressive translation features for intel-based apps. The majority of developers aren't writing code that is going to trigger issues with Rosetta translation.
    • These are the same people that felt it ok to spend $500 on a kit they didn't need, and knew they couldn't keep - but  the size of an unexpected discount is a problem.